Behind The Scenes: Dance Poster and Photoshop Magic

Thumbelinafinal_0415As photographers, one of our main goals is to find a story to tell each time a child, dancer, or dog steps in front of us.  At times, this can be challenging, (especially when you have a dog that would much prefer cuddling than to having his picture taken).

But sometimes, things fall into place quickly. For the past four years, I have had the honor of photographing and designing the Bettendorf Family Museum Dance poster.

I’ve always enjoyed this particular assignment and each year, I push myself to step outside of my comfort zone to create something fun and unique for the dance instructors and their dancers.

2010 Dylan

This year, the task was to design a poster for Thumbelina and Snow White.  I thought I would take a few minutes to share with you how the poster came together.

When I met with the dance teachers, they had their ideas in mind and we sat at the computer and browsed through their ideas.  Once I knew what they wanted, we then planned which dancers were needed to complete the project and set a date to shoot.

On a Saturday morning, I met three of the dancers at the dance studios with my lights and assistant.  While the dancer teachers helped with form and technique, I photographed them in various poses.  I went into this with three ideas and I wanted to shoot for all three.

elements 2 When I returned home, I set out photograph the other elements that were needed for the poster.  I picked up Gerber Daisy’s from Hyvee. The sky and clouds were taken on a family vacation to South Dakota two years ago.

Once the images were captured, I sat down at my computer and worked in Photoshop to extract the images from their original backgrounds and design the poster. A few hours later, the final product art piece was completed.

DSC_6473 1 copy

Using some of the same elements, I also designed art products for the individual dancers.  What a blast!

In fact, I had so much fun with this project that I am now developing new ideas and projects for the studio.

To view more dance portraits and posters, check out the Life is a Stage  gallery at our website.

What stories and ideas do you have?

 

 

 

 

About lisafrancescon

I am a Certified Professional Photographer located in Moline IL.
This entry was posted in Bettendorf, Children's photography, Dancers, Education, Family Photography, IL, Iowa, Moline, Rock Island and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

