The Carnation Project by Francescon Portraiture, Moline IL

Original CarnationuploadOver the past year, I have been reading Austen Kleon’s books and studying with a couple of master photographers in the Chicagoland area. One thing I hear over and over again is the importance of finding some time every week for creative play.  This includes self-assignments, practicing a technique and trying something completely new.

As part of my weekly play, I have discovered that I truly love to photograph flowers. I treat each little flower as a client. I light them to accentuate their beauty.  I study each one, looking for that unique personality.  Just as I do with my regular clients, I photograph them at different stages of life.

As I have been editing and sharing my flower images, I was introduced to the world of Corel Painter.  I downloaded the trial version last week and was immediately overwhelmed with all the different brushes and things I could do.

So thus begins another self assignment. I have chosen this carnation to guide me through Painter.  Over the next few weeks, I will take one brush to paint this flower.  As I finish one painting, I will move on the next, selecting a different brush. By the time I am done, I will have one flower with various looks.

As I complete a flower or two, I will post my work.  So, I invite you to check back to see the progress!  In the meantime, check out my other flowers at http://momentsbylisa.com/#!/page/140697/art-pieces

Now go out and be creative!

 

About lisafrancescon

I am a Certified Professional Photographer located in Moline IL.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

