Portrait of a Dancer, Moline Illinois

DSC_1083bwI love photographing dancers!  It doesn’t matter what age they are – from the unstable movements of a beginner as she moves into first position, to the beauty and grace of a young woman on point.

I’ve worked with dancers in many venues – traditional portraits at the dance studio, on-location and even some simple moves in my own studio.  However, one thing I’ve never done until recently, was to use my lighting to highlight the body of a dancer who has been training for many years. So once I decided that this was something I needed to do, I gave my friend Jill a call.

I met Jill four years ago when I was working with the dancers at the studio where the girls DSC_1076bwdance.  Fortunately, I was blessed to really get to know her when she and her mother contacted me a year ago for senior portraits.  We had a great time and Jillian and I created many beauutiful portraits  as she danced at Augustana in the arches, around a fountain, and in a skybridge.

So, when I decided to embark on a new project, I called Jill, knowing that she would be up for another adventure. We spent a wonderful morning playing in the studio!

Enjoy highlights fromJill’s portrait of a dancer session.

Thanks again Jillian for coming out to play.  For more images of my work, check out the “Life is a Stage” gallery on my website.

0023 0020 DSC_1060

About lisafrancescon

Lisa is a portrait artist who uses photography as part of a process to capture the personality of animals and the special relationship they have with their owners. Based out of Moline Illnois, she travels throughout the Midwest providing timeless images of family pets. Her fine art portraits can be viewed at various pet businesses throughout the Iowa/Illinois Quad Cities. Lisa holds a Master’s Degree in Education from Western Illinois University and taught in the public schools for many years. She continues to teach photography classes in her studio covering a wide range of topics. Her class sizes are small so she can offer her students a hands-on experience and individual attention. Lisa is a Certified Professional Photographer and has been awarded the Master of Photography and Photographic Craftsman degrees through the Professional Photographers of America. She is a member of the American Society of Photographers, one of the most prestigious photographic associations in the world and an association that must be invited into through photographic achievement. Among her many awards and accolades, Lisa has been recognized as one of the top 10 photographers in Illinois in both 2015 and 2016 from the Associated Professional Photographers of Illinois.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

